Thing #22, Copyright

Posted: July 25, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

In my classes there usually isn’t much of a discussion of copyrights. Patents are more applicable to our work.

The main thing that I talk with them about is software piracy. I encourage them to get copies of the software through the legitimate educational website rather than downloading a pirated copy. We do discuss public domain software, and options that they have in that arena.

I guess that if I taught a class where students did writing, or created graphical images I might spend more time talking about copyrights; however, my students are mainly involved in learning CAD software, and how to create technical drawings of physical objects, which are not covered under copyrights. We do discuss patents, their protections, and things that will break them.

Leave a Reply

