CIETA Conference

Posted: March 19, 2011 in Teaching Resources

The California Industrial Technology Education Association (CITEA) Conference just finished, and was a good time. There were several very good sessions that I attended including Bill Brown’s session on Green Standards, Steve Discus’ on sketching methods, and Walt Walters’ session on advisory committees. and of course the drafting round-table where instructors from across the state share resources.  I have moved my exercise to a page on this blog, if you are interested in the activities you can make a comment on the page and check the box to be notified when updates are made.

Last night we also watched “Race to Nowhere” which really hit home with me as I have two young sons, and am already preparing myself for struggles with the school system. It also reinforced my thoughts about how I structure class and approach grading. I will be writing a longer post about the video shortly.

Perhaps the most important aspects was the conversations that I had with other instructors. I was able to see how tings are going at their schools as well as share what I have been working on. If I had a chance to speak with you I  would like to say “thanks”, if I didn’t than hopefully we can talk in SLO or Long Beach next year. Everyone is also invited to come by and see me at Merced College.

I was also able to reconnect with my high school Drafting teacher. It has been almost 15 years since I graduated, and it was fun to see him share an activity at the round-table that I remembered doing in high school.

Leave a Reply

