Passed #dissertation proposal defense! #phdchat

Posted: May 30, 2013 in dissertation

Today I had my proposal defense. I arrived an hour and a half early in order to setup and make sure everything was working. I set out fresh copies of my proposal, printouts of my presentation, pens, water, and snacks for my committee members, and visitors.

image

One of my committee members arrived between 15 and 20 minutes late, I also had two members of my cohort come to watch. I presented my materials for almost 40 minutes. Following my presentation I answered questions for nearly an hour. Much of the discussion focused on narrowing my focus and if I would really be able to get the number of participants that I stated. There was also a discussion on how the questions on my survey supported answering my research questions. Following the discussion I left the room while my committee discussed it for almost half an hour. Upon reentering the room my chair congratulated me on passing the defense, and went once the changes that they wanted to make, all of which were things that I discussed with them. The two biggest things were that I am going to remove one of my questions, and use one that I had removed since my initial outline. The other major item was that they want me to set up a deadline for seeking RDS participants, and a plan b in case RDS does not yield enough.

Comments
  1. ann says:

    Congratulations.. I happen to open you blog while I’m searching for topics for my research subjects..

  2. Anonymous says:

    Yes i read how you started your dissertation and end up passing it.. I’m actually having my research subject for my doctoral degree now. I’m experiencing the dilemma of choosing a topic of interest and I happen to read your blog and motivated to start my study..

Leave a Reply

